I’m an Ashley-sicle!

So firstly I should let everyone know that China has been slowing the Internet and changing the way it works for about the past month so most of the time it is too slow to access American websites, so Posts on my blog are sporadic! But I did realize that instead of writing posts on my computer and then hoping the Internet works, I can write them on my phone and then post them when I find wifi. Wifi in the city works much better than my Internet out at the school, any my students seem to think this is because of the airport, and interfering signals.
Winter has come to Dalian! It has snowed a few times, and usually the snow melts in a couple days, right in time for the next thin coating to come blanket the city. Lately it’s been about 20-30F, which isn’t awful except we are right where the wind from Siberia comes down to blow into the sea…. So if it’s windy out, it’s miserable!! I quickly realized i needed warmer shoes, and begrudgingly joined the masses of people wearing Ugg boot knock offs… And it turns out they are super warm! And to make it better, the pair I found is covered in black sequins, so at least my feet sparkle as I trudge through the Siberian wind!
Last weekend I met up with 3 of my very good North American friends ( 1 Canadian and 2 other Americans) and we cooked a Holiday feast!! We all wanted to make our favorites and as a result we ended up with enough food to easily feed 12 people!! We got a turkey, and baked it in the oven. Now kitchens here don’t have ovens, so if you want one you need to get one that looks a lot like the toaster oven I grew up with. The friend we cooked with has a huge toaster oven, and it fit the 16 lb Turkey in, but it took double the calculated cook time, so instead of eating at 4, we ate at 9… Just enough time for a good game of Scrabble.
I have been having fun telling my students about Christmas and showing pictures of my parents Christmas tree. Christmas here is not an offficial holiday, so it’s more for friends and fun, than the big holiday we know it as. I am also giving my students exams now, as it’s coming to the end of term, and I keep telling my Tuesday intermediate class that they got the lucky day because their exam is on Christmas day!
My Chinese is steadily getting better and better. I don’t feel like such a fish out of water anymore. My vocabulary had grown to include alright, I don’t understand, and I am a teacher!
Hopefully my posts will be more frequent soon, but until then I hope you enjoy my stories! Lots of love, Ashley

About Ashley

I, Ashley, am going to teach English in China for a year, and this is for people to keep up with all my adventures! I am a bright and colorful person, who always loves a new things, and now everyone can keep up with me on my newest trip!

Posted on December 19, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey Ashley, it sounds like you are fitting more and more each day. We now have over a foot of snow and it’s still snowing!! Skiing this Friday!!WooooWoooo!!!
    Bob and I are having Christmas here with our youngest son, Joseph who is 32. He’s a welder in Spokane. Sooo sweet and thoughtful. Love him.
    Also, there will be 9 others joining us for our traditional dinner, fondue! Beef, chicken, tuna, shrimp, scallops, veggies and choc fondue served with fruit and pound cake. Yummmmm!!
    We keep you in our prayers and thoughts. Love you Belva

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

