Merry Christmas – Chinese style

I might have mentioned before but Christmas isn’t an officially celebrated holiday in China. It’s not like their festival days where the whole world shuts down and everyone eats dumplings or its bad luck. But they still have their own “almost-but not quite” way of Celebrating Christmas. You can find decorations places, and shop workers wear Santa hats, especially in places where there might be westerners, and friends give each other presents, which are almost always an apple or orange, both or which will be enormous and lavishly wrapped. It’s like they almost celebrate Christmas, but not quite. This Christmas, I had every intention of celebrating Christmas to the full extent, the western way, but it ended up being Almost, but not quite!
My friend and I took an epic shopping trip to Ikea and Metro ( a German grocery store kind of like Costco). We went to Ikea so I could get Swedish food for Swedish Christmas evening, and then Metro because that’s the best place to get western food here. We got a rack of lamb and some cheese, and planned the whole dinner. Christmas eve came and I prepared the Swedish food. My stomach was a little queasy, but I didn’t think much of it, and a couple of my colleagues came for dinner. We had a great time but I still felt queasy. When I woke up Christmas morning, I had the full fledged stomach- virus of the century and it was stuck on “attack Ashley” mode! I had to miss yummy rack of Lamb for Christmas dinner!!! I missed spending time with my friends too. I went and got medicine Wednesday morning, and by Thursday I was able to eat bread, and ramen noodles, and today (Friday) I’m almost back to my normal self. It was the most random virus I’ve had! And because of that, I celebrated Christmas almost…. But not quite! The Chinese way!!!!
I am much better now, and those couple days I was sick I was so so happy to have Skype to be able to talk to home with. I was worried about being homesick for Christmas, and then I got actual sick and forgot about homesickness! So it worked out!
Celebrating any major holiday anywhere away from your family is always hard, but I am so incredibly thankful for having the technology to be connected to my family so much that it’s not nearly as far away.
The point of this point was to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas, even if it’s a couple days late. I hope everyone is enjoying themselves, wherever they may be!
Have a happy happy New Year!!
Lots of love from the land of pointless Santa hats, Ashley

About Ashley

I, Ashley, am going to teach English in China for a year, and this is for people to keep up with all my adventures! I am a bright and colorful person, who always loves a new things, and now everyone can keep up with me on my newest trip!

Posted on December 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I am so glad you are much better and that you weren’t your cherry self on Christmas day. I hope your new year goes better and that you celebrate with gusto. Bring the new year in with cheer and laughter. We think of you often and pray all goes well in 2013. We met you sis, she’s not a bit like you but just as nice and loveable. Cheers to you!

  2. OOOOOPs. “I am so glad you are much better and sad you weren’t your cherry self on Christmas day”, is what I meant to say.

  3. Chuckles!!! :)

  4. Hola Senorita! Sorry to hear you were not feeling well. Something similar (but not as bad) visited me in Mexico the night of the 23rd. I was back in action within 14 hours – but not fun! Hopefully New Years is more fun! We are back in the land of snow and cold! By the way we both tried to speak Spanish. Everyone was very kind and didn’t seem to care if we switched back and forth – just that we tried. Welcome to 2013!

  5. Hey Ash…just saw some updates from the train to Bejing. You may make me join facebook to say up to date. You are dragging me into the 2010s kicking and screaming.

    AC

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

