Touchdown!!! …in Thailand!

So as everyone back in the states is getting ready for Superbowl weekend, I am getting ready for a Super vacation!!!! hehehe these puns are sure fun!
After Beijing, I went to visit some friends in Dongying, Shandong province… the city sits on an oil field and is basically the west Texas of China, so we didnt do sight seeing, but it was a lot of good hang out with friends time! The I had 10 days back in Dalian, which is like an icy tundra…..
Yesterday I woke up early, went to the airport in 20 F (-6C) weather…. flew to Guangzhou, which is in southern China, switched flights, and now I’m in Bangkok!!!
Our family hosted an exchange student from Thailand 4 years ago, Jew, and she is playing the role of amazing tour guide!!! She arranged for me to be able to rent an apartment in her apartment building for the month, because I am staying in Thailand for the whole month of February. It’s super cheap, much much cheaper than staying at a hotel, and its perfect because I can use it as my base for all my travels. I brought my backpack with me too, so I can leave most of my things here, and then just pack what I need for my trip in my backpack and go! So I’m definitely going to see more of Thailand than just Bangkok! Tonight we are going to Saraburi, Jew’s hometown, to meet her parents. Then tomorrow we, along with Jew’s best friend Sandy and Sandy’s friends who are visiting from Korea, are all going to go down to Hua Hin, which is a beach town south of Bangkok. if you look at a map, Bangkok is pretty close to the sea, and its at the top of this huge bay. Thailand then stretches out south in two arms that travel down pretty long. Hua Hin is on the western arm. I’m super excited!!! Another thing about Thailand is everyone is your “uncle” or “aunt” and because of this, Thai people have a connection to everyone!!!! The apartment building I am living in is owned by Jew’s aunt, who in reality is her Grandmother’s sister’s daughter (saying aunt is sooooo much easier) so that’s why I was able to get an apartment cheaply for just the month! Sandy’s “aunt” just happens to own or run (I’m not sure which) the biggest resort in Hua Hin, where the prime ministers and celebrities stay. Normally, it would be way far beyond our budget range, but because of all these “aunt and uncle” connections, we get to stay there!!!!!!!
If you can’t tell I’m super excited about this trip! its nice to be out of the cold!! Also, Thailand is not restrictive about their internet, so I can get on websites like my blog page and facebook without having to use internet magic!! yay!!!!! So hopefully I will be able to post pictures on here!!! I will be posting to fb too, but those of you that don’t have fb, I will post them on here too!!!!!
Hope everyone is well, enjoy the superbowl!!! Apparently the trailer for the 6th Fast and Furious movie is going to be shown during it….. I love those movies, so if I was home I would watch for that reason alone!
Lots of Love, Ash

About Ashley

I, Ashley, am going to teach English in China for a year, and this is for people to keep up with all my adventures! I am a bright and colorful person, who always loves a new things, and now everyone can keep up with me on my newest trip!

Posted on February 1, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Have a GREAT time! We will let Vin Diesel know that Ashley sends her love!

  2. Actually sounds a lot like Elk Creek, Nebraska – but warmer and with a beach!!!

  3. Well, Ashley, it sounds like you are having a time of your life. I keep you in my prayers that all goes well with you and remain safe throughout your journey. We woke to 20 degrees also. It’s been real nice with the snow on the ground. Bob’s up skiing while I remain home quilting. Tomorrow I’ll go skiing. probably made a mistake by not going today because it’s just beautiful out with the sun shining and 30 degrees right now. Oh well can’t always have it my way. Take care and safe travel.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

