Shanghai!!

Today is day 4 of orientation!
In other words, I made it to China!!!!!!
Its been crazy, wonderful, and new all at once!
My flight was good, went smoothly, and I actually got to Shanghai about an hour and a half earlier than thought! The hotel is really nice, and its been an action-packed week! There are about 70 of us participating in orientation.
They have been giving talks about what to expect, and also Chinese lessons, which are very helpful! We have been doing group activities in lesson planning, and also seen some of the amazing sights Shanghai has to offer. Its been exhausting doing so much, and getting over jet-lag at the same time, but I’ve gotten over jet-lag almost completely!!

There are a lot of great people in the program, and its been great to be able to meet them, and hopefully see them during the year!
We have been eating all different types of food, some delicious, and some kind of weird. We have seen a Sichuan face changer, who uses masks to change his facial expression at amazing speed. We have also seen the Shanghai Circus Acrobats. Those were fun. We went to the Shanghai Museum and saw a lot of Chinese history. Yesterday we went to an area of the city called the Bund, and went on a river cruise to see the amazing sky-line! The amount of tall, modern looking buildings is incredible!
Now I am off to my last day of Chinese lessons and exploring before I go to Dalian tomorrow (Friday)!
Lots of Love, Ashley

About Ashley

I, Ashley, am going to teach English in China for a year, and this is for people to keep up with all my adventures! I am a bright and colorful person, who always loves a new things, and now everyone can keep up with me on my newest trip!

Posted on August 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m so glad yu are having such a wonderful time. Love knowing what your up to. Can you post photos?

  2. Wow! Sounds amazing! I’m glad your having so much fun and got to experience some of the culture. I hope you got lots of pictures. Lol and that’s a busy schedule. Get some rest lol

  3. Oh yeah forgot, could you explain the face changing guy again? Just a performer lol

  4. How fun!!! Glad you made it and hope you continue to enjoy all that it has to offer 🙂

  5. Yes, I can post pictures, they will be up, eventually!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

