How Walmart is taking over the world.

Greetings from Dalian! I have been here 5 days now, and so far I’m loving it!
I live in an apartment on the Foreign teachers building

Its a pretty big apartment, with a living room, kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom!

 

Monday I began teaching. I am teaching oral English, so my students all have some sort of foundation in English, they just need help with pronunciation and building the confidence to speak. I have 9 classes in total. I see each class once a week for 2 hours. 4 of my classes (all my afternoon classes) are intermediate classes. I have had the two groups that are plain English majors, and Thursday and Friday I will have my two groups that are Chinese/English majors. In the mornings I have my 5 beginning English classes. 4 are groups of freshmen (2 English major groups, and 2 Chinese/English majors). Those classes don’t start until the 4th week of school because they are undergoing “freshmen training.” There are groups of freshmen all around campus undergoing militaristic exercises in team-work and confidence. I was told by some of my older students that the “trainees” think that they are being drilled by people brought in from the Chinese Military, but in fact, it is just older students!

My last class is a beginning oral English class for senior students. I will have that class on Friday.

I ventured off campus once so far. My students took me to one of the squares downtown so I could set up a bank account and get some things I needed, like towels, laundry detergent, and shampoo. They told me they would take me to a supermarket where I could get everything, and I was flabbergasted when we walking into Walmart!!!! It looked exactly like a Walmart back home, except it was even larger (!!!) and had Chinese products, or Chinese versions. They even had Walmart brands like Mainstays and Great Value!! It was a bit weird, and further proof that Walmart is taking over the world…..

My students are all super nice! The 1st class we did introductions, and I got to give a lot of them English names, because they didn’t have them. I thought this would be tons of fun until I realized they wanted a name that started with they same letter as their Chinese name. That’s all fine and dandy, but so many Chinese names start with W and Z! I have yet to have a Whitney in one of my classes, but I have 7 left so I’m sure 1 person will pick that name. I already have a Zach and a Zelda!
The kids all said how happy they were to have a foreign English teacher, and how they think I’m cute (teaching over here is definitely a great confidence booster!!) and want to be my friend!

A group of them have gone with me to the cafeteria to show me the good food which is really helpful, and on Saturday they are taking me to the movies and to Ikea!

The cafeteria, or canteen as they call it, is an experience all in itself. It looks more like a mall food court. There are little food kiosks selling different food, where you can order what you want, and get it to go or eat it there. So far everything has been delicious!

Lots of Love from China, Ash

About Ashley

I, Ashley, am going to teach English in China for a year, and this is for people to keep up with all my adventures! I am a bright and colorful person, who always loves a new things, and now everyone can keep up with me on my newest trip!

Posted on September 5, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Ashley… Thanks so much for the updates…..it is so exciting to hear about your adventures around the world…..your apartment looks great! Sherry

  2. Ashley, ….thank you for sharing your first experiences with the other side of the world, namely Twisp! I’m wondering how many students you might have in each class? I’m sure you will have some wonderful times and great foods. I can hardly wait to find out what your thoughts are when you are able to travel by land around the area. China has some amazing land sculptures to see.

    Yes, Walmart is all over the world as is Starbucks. I was surprised, when we were there, to find latte’s and espresso’s. One thinks of tea when in China, but I believe coffee is becoming a great substitute.

    Are you keeping a diary, so you won’t forget your experiences of names and places. You’ll be glad you did later after returning home. There’s so much to remember with all the adventures you encounter.

    My prayers remain with you. Safe travels and wonderful experiences. Many new friends to make, sights to see, and food to try. God bless you and keep you safe.

    Love Belva

  3. I love Your apartment! I hope you are feeling OK and I am sure everything will go just perfect! Hugging You from across the world! :)))

  4. Thanks everyone! I love my apartment too!!
    Belva, I have around 30 students in each class so far. So thats about 270 students in all when I start all my classes!!!

  5. So glad you are having a good time. Sounds so interesting. Wow wo8uld be hard to find a lot of names with W and Z! Have fun and stay safe.

  6. Hi Ashley, many greetings from Germany from Silvia and Heike! It is lots of fun to read your adventures!

  7. That is funny about the Wal-Mart 🙂
    I like your place though! A lot bigger than I thought it would be!

  8. So…which kind of toilet do you have? Western or Eastern?!?!?

Leave a Reply

